Alcohol, Drug, Sexual Assault, & Hazing Laws

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

picture of hand cuffsMisdemeanor – $250 fine or 24-32 hours of community service

Misdemeanor (second offense) – $500 fine or 36-48 hours community service

California Code 25658BP

Possession of False ID:

  • Infraction one year Driver License suspension if under 21
  • Misdemeanor $1095 fine, 24-32 Hours of Volunteer work alcohol/drug program or coroner’s office, one year driver license suspension if under 21
  • Misdemeanor (2nd offense) – $2045 fine 36-48 Hours of Volunteer work alcohol/drug program or coroner’s office, one year driver license suspension if under 21.

California Code 25661BP

Minor in Possession of Alcohol

Infraction – $172 fine or $20 fine and 24-32 hours of volunteer work at alcohol/drug program, one year driver license suspension if under 21

Infraction (second offense) $324 fine or $20 fine and 36-48 hours of volunteer work at alcohol/drug program. One year driver license suspension if under 21.

Misdemeanor $1095 fine or $145 fine and 24-32 hours of volunteer work at alcohol/drug program or coroner’s office,
one year driver license suspension

Misdemeanor (second offense) – $2045 fine or $145 fine and 36-48 hours of volunteer work at alcohol/drug program or coroner’s office, one year driver license suspension if under 21.

California Code 23152(a), (b) CVC

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

For Any Offense:
DUI Victim impact panel, one year driver license suspension if under 21, Surrender License, Refer to SAAU
23593 CVC Advisal

Misdemeanor – $1912 fine and Substance Abuse Assessment Unit (SAAU) fee. Driver license suspension, but the DMV addresses these on a case-by-case basis.

Misdemeanor (second offense) – 96 hours in custody, $2378 fine, 24-Month License Suspension, 1-30 Day vehicle impound.

Felony (23153 CVC) (DUI causing injury) – Five days in custody, $2330 fine, 12-month license suspension.

Standard Alcohol Conditions (SAC)(23600 CVC)

  • You may not drive with any measurable amount of BAC
  • You must submit to any test at the request of a peace officer for alcohol detection
  • Violate no laws regarding driving a motor vehicle while under the influence or in the possession of alcohol or drugs
  • Not drive without a valid license and proof of insurance
  • .19% BAC or below 3 months
  • .20% or higher 9 months
  • Test refusal 9 months

California Code 23152(a), (b) CVC

Possession of Marijuana

Misdemeanor (less than 1 oz.)– $206 dollar fine and driver’s license, suspension for one year if under 21. If referred to Community court, you may receive a $100 fine, written essay and probation.

Misdemeanor (greater than 1 oz) – 30 days custody, up to 6 months. One year license suspension if under 21

Felony (possession for sale) – One year in state prison.

California Code 11357(a), (b) HS

Possession of Cocaine/Ecstasy/Methamphetamine/Scheduled Narcotics (i.e. Aderral/Codeine, etc.)

Felony up to one year in state prison and $10,000 fine,
one year driver license suspension if under 21.

Felony (possession for sale) – up to four years in state prison.

California Codes 11350(a) HS, 11377 (a) HS, 11351HS, and 4060 BP

Possession of controlled substance without a prescription

Misdemeanor – Up to six months in jail or $1000 fine.

California Codes 11350(a) HS, 11377 (a) HS, 11351HS, and 4060 BP

Hazing

Picture of two police officers“A method of initiation or pre-initiation into a student organization or student body, whether or not the organization or body is officially recognized by an educational institution, which is likely to cause serious bodily injury to any former, current, or prospective student of any school, community college, college, university, or other educational institution in this state. The person whom the hazing is directed may commence a civil action for injury or damages.”

Misdemeanor – $100-$5000 or imprisonment in county jail for not more than one year, or both.

Felony (causing serious bodily injury/death) – imprisonment in state prison.

California Code 245.6 PC

QUIZ 14

Question: If you are under 21 years of age, which of the following could result in a one-year suspension of your driver’s license:

  • A Possession of a false ID
    A is only partially correct
  • B Driving with a blood alcohol content of .01% or higher
    B is only partially correct
  • C Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana
    C is only partially correct
  • D Possession of any alcoholic beverage
    D is only partially correct
  • E All of the above
    E is correct! Minors who are convicted of any alcohol or drug related offense, even if not vehicle or driving-related, may have their driving privileges suspended for one year.



(answer)